Change begins where excuses end.

Headline: One Hour of Preparation Saves Two Hours During the Week

I had another successful prep day this weekend!  I think knowing that school is out soon is giving me a lot more energy on the weekends, well probably  knowing that school AND the baby will be out soon gives me a lot of hope and energy!  Just in the nick of time too, because I think my husband was starting to wonder if I was going to be worthless forever.  Not forever, honey, just a few…ten months.

Not to toot my own horn, but I’m really liking the preparation guide, mainly because it lists so many cuts of meats, veggies, and fruits that I may not think of while sitting at home writing my grocery list.  I can circle new items each week and try out something  new if I am feeling adventurous (which I always am).  I might improve the guide in the near future, but for right now it is fitting the bill and helping me prepare.  Prior to using the guide, I wrote down a few meals that I would like to have this weekend, then used the guide to fill in the gaps.

To give you an idea of how much time having a prep day on the weekend can save you I timed myself today as I cleaned, chopped, and stored my food for the week.  After spending what seemed like an ungodly amount of time at the commissary soon after payday, I headed home to prepare for the week.  After unloading the groceries and realizing that I was completely spent, I sat down, had a snack and rested for a bit before waddling back into the kitchen.  I spent an hour in the kitchen from the unloading of the groceries to cleaning, cutting, storing and having my kitchen back to it’s original state.

HOW I GOT ORGANIZED:

  1. I filled my sink up with luke warm water and began dumping fruit and veggies in in batches, gave them a gentle hand wash, then put them in my drying rack to dry.
  2. I laid out my cutting board, bags, and produce so it was all within reach–I didn’t even stand up for the chopping task, I sat on my butt the entire time.  
  3. I put the garbage on my right (and the dog on my left) so I could immediately dispose of scraps.  Having everything at hand makes this process much faster.
  4. After chopping each veggie, I immediately put them in bags ready for cooking.  In some bags I combined more than one veggie for example: for the night we will have stir fry or the night we will have tomato salad.
  5. Once all my fruits and veggies were chopped, I put them in the fridge so they would be easy to see.  I try to put snacks in one part of the fridge, all of the contents for salad in one drawer, all the meat in that blue basket (so blood doesn’t drip all over the place…gross) and only use one place for leftovers–as they have a funny way of getting lost and stinky in the back of the fridge.  I also put my eggs in bowls because I have a nasty habit of putting the shells back in the carton.

From start to finished the process took me an hour and I am guessing it will save me about 25 minute of extra chopping, prepping, and cleaning each night this week.  That’s nearly three extra hours I would have spent in the kitchen this week prepping for meals–I saved myself two hours!  I’m rich!  Now I’m going to go spend that two hours doing something COMPLETELY unproductive!

4 comments on “Headline: One Hour of Preparation Saves Two Hours During the Week

  1. Abby
    June 4, 2012

    Going to try this! I need all the time I can get!

    • Lauren
      June 4, 2012

      We all do, I hope it works for you!

  2. Sarah Bates King
    June 4, 2012

    I think I might do this tonight with what we got from the farmer’s market. You are brilliant. I will certainly do it during the summer and will make cooking dinner so much easier. The witching hour for young kids just happens to be the same time a mom should start dinner so this will prove valuable for you for years to come!!

    • Lauren
      June 4, 2012

      We don’t even have kids yet and it already helps immensely!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2012 by in Nutrition.
