Raw Coconut Nectar

It’s been brought to my attention that I haven’t written in over two months!  Actually, I think about it often I just haven’t been sure what to write about.  After all, I’ve only got baby on the brain and this isn’t a pregnancy blog (and I appreciate having male readers so I’m not going to turn it into one).  My husband says I should write about sex–you can see what’s on his mind.

After a few minutes of pondering and scouting my kitchen for ideas, I’ve decided to write about my new favorite sweetener.  No, not agave nectar, which I am learning is not nearly as natural as we think. I have not done enough research to deem myself an expert so I will just say this; apparently much of it isn’t made from the nectar of the agave plant at all and is processed in the same way as high fructose corn syrup. As with anything, I would highly suggest you read up on the topic and form your own opinion. Here is a good article to start; Weston A. Price: Agave Nectar Worse Than We Thought

So what is my new favorite sweetener?  Raw Coconut Nectar.  It is extracted from the sap of the coconut tree and then evaporated at temperatures never exceeding the temperature of it’s original climate to get rid of some of the moisture and allow it to thicken.  Coconut Nectar has a glycemic index of 35, which is low, and it is also low in carbohydrates at 13 grams per tablespoon.  I’ve used it in multiple recipes this week, including the paleo mug cake I will write about soon– and it taste great too!

From what I’ve research about Raw Coconut Nectar, it is indeed coconut nectar not a strange fabrication with a deceiving label.  As with any sweetener, natural or not, I used it with moderation as a tool to keep me on track with my healthy lifestyle.  It is not a staple food to keep my sweet tooth primed, it is merely something I use to keep my sanity when everything is loaded with high fructose corn syrup and sugar.  I found it at Wegman’s, but I’m guessing Whole Foods and places like that would have it as well!  Give it a try and let me know what you think.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Al says:

    Lauren, thanks for this info — I’ve been using agave for going on a year, and had not seen this before. The comments below the WAPF piece don’t make easier to make a decision on what to do. Research continues!!!

Leave a Reply

