Change begins where excuses end.

Excess Glucose = Fat (and that’s that!)

At the age of 15  my mom told me I was eating too much fruit –and it was at that moment that I thought she had officially lost it.  Sure, sugary cereal and Twinkies are bad, but fruit?  Gimme a break…she was just looking for one more way to make me miserable.

I would imagine that is how my friend felt last night when I told her the same thing.  After 5 weeks of Paleo, she hadn’t had any weight loss.  Because of her commitment to Crossfit she was in better shape but she wanted to see that number on the scale change as well.  As always my first question was “What have you eaten today?”  She was eating lots of healthy foods throughout the day, but too many in the fruit category.

Robb Wolf, author of The Paleo Solution, suggests you stay in the range of 25-75 grams of carbohydrates per day.  Compared to the average American’s diet of 200-300 grams of carbohydrates this may seem like a “low carb diet,” but really it’s a necessary carb diet.  Your body doesn’t need more than that and giving it more than it needs is bad news.  But it’s fruit, it’s HEALTHY….. right???  It is, but it is also a carbohydrate which gets broken down to glucose when digested.    Therefore; too much fruit leads to excess glucose, which leads to fat.

excess glucose = fat

(and that’s that!)

Vegetables are also carbohydrates, but they have less  glucose per serving compared to fruit.  Therefore, filling your day with vegetables (green beans, spinach, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, etc) will keep your glucose levels lower and keep your body from storing excess fat.

When you shift from high carb to necessary carb your body will desire that sweetness or that sugar, but FIGHT IT!  That craving will go away and because you are not giving your body as much glucose , it will begin looking to another source for energy…..FAT!  That’s right, when you lower your carbohydrate intake, your body begins digging into those fat stores for that energy, reserving the glucose you eat as energy for your brain, red blood cells, and other tissues.  (Goodbye thunder thighs, jello arms, cottage cheese legs!   HALLELUJAH!)

So Lauren, what exactly does too much fruit look like?  For me, it looks like more than one serving per day (gasp, but what about the Food Pyramid ??)  Your body can get all the vitamins and nutrients it needs from vegetables.  Potassium from bananas can be found in peppers.  Looking for Vitamin C?  Eat your broccoli, baby!  When I hit a plateau, I turn to my vegetable consumption and amp it up.  I eat spinach for breakfast, cabbage for lunch, and I still live to see dinner!  If you’d like to get a more exact number so that you can stay between 25-75 grams of carbs per day (I would suggest starting yourself much closer to 75 and easing your way down), look below for a list of your favorite fruits.

The Carb Breakdown in Fruit

  • 1 apple = about 18 grams of carbohydrates
  • 1 orange=about 18 grams of carbohydrates
  • 1 grapefruit=about 18 grams of carbohydrates
  • 1 cup grapes = about 18 grams of carbohydrates
  • 1 mango= about 30 grams of carbohydrates (woooow!)
  • 1 banana= about 27 grams of carbohydrates (geeeeeez!)
  • 1 c. strawberries= about 9 grams carbohydrates
  • 1 peach= about 9 grams carbohydrates
  • 1 c. blueberries= about 9 grams carbohydrates
  • 1 c. black/raspberries= about 9 grams carbohydrates
  • 1 c. pineapple= about 21 grams carbohydrates (ouch!)
6 comments on “Excess Glucose = Fat (and that’s that!)

  1. Missy Locklear
    October 11, 2011

    Lauren. Thank you this really helps. U miss you but I am still going. Some set backs but always with Crossfit in mind. Hope to see ya soon.

    • Lauren
      October 12, 2011

      Miss, I miss you A LOT! I know you are still coming though, I see your name on the board! I hope all is well and I see you soon. Keep working hard, no matter where you do it!

  2. Helen
    October 12, 2011

    Great info, Lauren, thanks. I guess I had better start watching my fruit intake a little more closely. I keep piles of fruit at home as the go-to snack. A typical day is an apple in the morning, an orange in the afternoon, and 1-2 cups of frozen grapes at night. At 54-72 grams per day, should I cut back?

  3. Lauren
    October 12, 2011

    Yes, I would start replacing a lot of those with vegetables, I think you will really like the results. I have so much more energy when I am eating more veggies. Go-to snacks for me include nuts, a protein shake or leftovers, always get protein in with your snacks. You could do an apple in the morning with breakfast, veggies and meat at lunch, nuts in the afternoon, a post workout shake , and veggies with dinner. Cut down on the amount of grapes at night and I think you will feel GREAT!

  4. Norah
    October 12, 2011

    Printed this one out for reference…:) Great info!!

    • Lauren
      October 12, 2011

      Awesome! Anything I can do to help.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 11, 2011 by in Nutrition.
