Change begins where excuses end.

A Devilish Snack

What happened to the fourth half?  I couldn’t wait long enough to get the camera out, I had to try one!  These took me ten minutes to prepare, so if you’re making excuses for not having a healthy snack TIME is not one of them!

In preparation for the upcoming work week after an entire summer of leisure, I have spent the afternoon cooking (so I don’t spend the next five days starving).  I picked up three dozen eggs at the farm earlier, as I have 30 dozen eggs to get before the end of the season.  Aside from A LOT of scrambling, what else am I going to do with these eggs?  Well, I will bake them, fry them, poach them, but today I hard-boiled them.  This makes for an easy snack that I can take with me all week-long, as well as something to add to your kid’s lunch box.

We are all familiar with deviled eggs… Satan’s gift to appetizers.  When I go to a party that is filled with grainy, sugary appetizers, I can usually count on deviled eggs to hold me over until the main course. Tonight I made deviled eggs using a little wedge of Laughing Cow Cheese and Dijon mustard added to the yolks, if I had a little pickle relish I would have added that too.  There are a thousand different ways to make deviled eggs, but mayonnaise, mustard, relish, and the egg yolk from a hard-boiled egg are the traditional ingredients, with a little dash of nutmeg.  I have many more hard-boiled eggs to experiment with this week to keep my snacks interesting and tasty. One egg has about 7 grams of protein, the perfect amount for a snack!


2 comments on “A Devilish Snack

  1. Evan
    September 5, 2011

    I will see tomorrow if I can make this recipe. My plan is to get a canteen cup of water set it out in the 110 degree weather and then add an egg or two and see if it boils. I shall call them desert deviled eggs!! Not sure where to get my other ingredients but that will come in a future post. Thanks.

    • Lauren
      September 5, 2011

      You’re obviously a little sleep deprived…good luck with your plan. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2011 by in Nutrition, Recipes.
