Change begins where excuses end.

Wake Up With Water

Since I’ve returned from vacation, I’ve had a really hard time getting out of bed anywhere before 8:30 am.  During the summer this doesn’t strike me as too early, but I failed to mention that I go to bed around 8:30 pm.   Even with 12 hours of sleep I’ve had the hardest time pulling myself out of bed.  First I blamed it on jet lag, but after a week that excuse lost it’s validity.  Then I decided I wasn’t going to blame it on anything, just pure laziness.  Then magically I got out of bed at 6:50 yesterday morning and this morning I was wide awake by 4:50!  I went to bed at the same time, if not later, but still felt more refreshed and eager to get my day started the next morning.  What is the difference?

H-Y-D-R-A-T-I-O-N

This week I have gotten back in the routine of drinking an adequate amount of water each day and it has made a huge difference.  The body looses fluid through various sources every day and must be replenished and without a sufficient amount of water, your body can’t work optimally.

So power up, sleepy head!  Remember to drink enough water today.  For ME, half my body weight in ounces is the golden number.  There are studies that show your body may work more effectively on less water, as it learns how to use it most efficiently that way.  Other studies might show more, this is just what works best for me.  Play around and see what works the best for you, but I would bet drinking a little more may leave you feeling A LOT better.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 26, 2011 by in Nutrition.
