Change begins where excuses end.

Addicted to the Crack-ers

For the last month I have been eating and adventuring my way across Italy,  I hope this explains my absence from the blog.  I met so many wonderful people, had so many great experiences, and ate so much great FOOD!  Now I have returned to my kitchen, and I am back to trying out recipes that I can happily munch on without any negative side effects… such as muffin tops or guilt.

A few months back I included “Almond Flour Crackers,” in one of the weekly meal plans, but this week I was reminded of the recipe by Rise, the author of http://www.stronger2day.com.  She made a batch and brought them to the gym and inspired me to give the recipe another try!  These crackers are so simple, so crunchy, and I dare you to find a difference between these and Triscuits….oh, minus the grain, sugar, terrible amounts of omega-6 fatty acids and zero nutrient content.  This is one of the recipes where store-bought almond flour works better than homemade, the fine power makes the crackers crispy and crunchy.  Take these along with you to snack on at work, at football practice, or while you’re sitting in I-95 traffic, they are proven to keep road rage to a dull roar. Buon Appetito!

Almond Flour Crackers


  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 T. spices of your choice
  • salt to your taste
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  2. Mix all together with your hands!
  3. Using 2 pieces of parchment paper, place the dough between them and roll the dough out to about 1/8 of an inch thick.
  4. Now, you have two options, either use a round cookie cutter to make cute little spherical crackers, or use a knife to cut the dough into a grid, creating little square crackers.
  5. Transfer the dough to a cookie sheet and place in the oven for 8 minutes.
  6. After 8 minutes, or after the crackers are golden around the edges, remove from the oven and let cool long enough that your tongue doesn’t burn when you eat them all in one sitting.
  7. Serve with humus, recipe conveniently below…

Jalapeno Humus

  • 1 large can chick peas (1 lb. 13 oz)
  • 2 T. white vinegar
  • 1/2 jalapeno, chopped finely
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. salt
  1. In a food processor (or blender) blend all of the above ingredients together.  TA DA!
3 comments on “Addicted to the Crack-ers

  1. Helen
    August 20, 2011

    Sounds yummy! I have missed eating crackers since April. I never saw an almond-flour bag for me 😦 I tried to order 3# with the bulk order. Next time?What spices do you recommend?

    • Lauren
      August 25, 2011

      I”m glad we got the iron flour problem ironed out. Any spices work with this, just pick your favorite one and start experimenting!

  2. Joshua Matthews
    August 24, 2011

    I made two batches of these cracker tonight. One with chili powder, paprika, black pepper, and a dash of cayenne. My southwest crackers. The other with nutmeg and cinnamon. Thanks for the delicious and simple recipe with endless possibilities 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 19, 2011 by in Nutrition, Recipes.
