An Eggplant Just Exploded in my Oven

Due to a power outage at school, I am working from home today.  By “working from home,” I mean catching up on laundry (long gone are the days when I could do laundry every three weeks) and trying out all of the new Indian ingredients I picked up on my last shopping trip, while watching Julia Child.  Last summer I went on a French cooking kick, I’d spend 2-3 hours making dinner and I was known to wear heals and pearls while cooking and listening to 50’s French music.

My French kick went strong for over a month, and then fizzled with the fireworks around the 4th of July, I then decided that I wanted to tackle India cuisine.  I really hadn’t ever had Indian food, but I was impressed/obsessed with the New Food Network Star Aarti Sequera’s blog and YouTube channel.  I could watch her make yummy Indian food right there in her own kitchen, without any producers or fake stuff, just her cooking the food she grew up around.  I was intrigued by the flavors of India and wanted to try them.

Well, here we are many months later and I am just beginning to experiment with Indian food.  Today I attempted a very simple chicken curry with green peppers, overall I would call it a success, after all, it didn’t suck, but it still didn’t have that wonderful dept of flavor and my chicken was dry.  Thankfully my husband will tell me it is excellent and eat the entire bowl.  The dish I am currently in the midst of preparing is Baba ganoush, which is technically an Arabic dish, but it was on Aarti Paarti, so I am making it anyways.  It consist of roasted eggplant, tahini sauce, lemon juice, and salt.

Just before I sat down to type I heard a huge boom come from my oven (huge is relative, not as big as the bombs at Quantico, but much larger than any explosion that you want coming from your oven).  I roasted the eggplant whole at 350 degrees for 51 minutes, but apparently I should have poked some holes in the side so that the steam could escape.  After it cools, I will remove the skin and put all of it in the food processor to get it all mushy and add about 1/6 c. of tahini sauce (ground sesame seeds), lemon juice, and salt to taste.  I have never had this before, but I am really looking forward to some new flavors.

When I get tired of cooking and find myself cooking boring things for dinner, I try to find a new ingredient, technique, or Food Network star to inspire me.  Face it, if we don’t like being in the kitchen, we won’t spend enough time in the kitchen preparing our families healthy, quality meals.  And if we aren’t preparing them healthy, quality meals, they will end up eating whatever they can get their hands on.  It is worth the effort.

Although I definitely haven’t perfected this recipe, it is a starting point and maybe it inspire you to try some new things.

Chicken Curry

  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 package chicken breasts, cut into tenders
  • 1 T. red curry paste
  • 1 T. fish sauce
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 2 green peppers, sliced
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • olive oil or coconut oil
  1. In a saute pan on medium heat, heat olive oil or coconut oil and cook chicken until it is just cooked through–not too cooked through because it will have more time on heat later.
  2. Remove the chicken and add more oil to the pan, add onions and green peppers to the saute pan.
  3. Cook until they have softened SLIGHTLY and add garlic. Let cook for 1 minute.
  4. Add about 1/2 of the can of coconut milk to the pan, add 1 T. curry paste and 1 T. fish sauce.
  5. Return chicken to the pan and let cook for a couple minutes.
  6. Add salt and pepper and more curry paste to taste!

I think this recipe would be even better with quartered chicken, as it has more flavor than chicken breasts, you can also use beef or pork and add whatever vegetables you want!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

