No BS Open Week 1 Finishers and Week 2 Workout!

Last week I posted a pretty tough workout as part of the “No BS Open”–it was really an attempt to get people moving and get some of you to try something new!  I did have 6  of the original 8 people complete the workout and send in the results, which was awesome!  I didn’t get anyone who wasn’t already a Crossfitter involved, which I was really hoping for some new participants, but none-the-less, my friends at RARE pulled through for me and we had some great results.  Lee finished the fastest amongst the three women with 8: 30 and Gabe beat out Mike by a mere 5 seconds!  Great job to Julie, Jen, Lee, Norah, Mike, and Gabe for putting in the work this week and doing an AWESOME job!  Julie was even on vacation and did the box jumps on a snow drift!  Gabe currently has an insanely intense schedule, Jen is a devoted athlete with a hectic schedule and young son, Lee has three jobs, Jen has 2 tween kids and is a full-time teacher, and Mike drives a really cool Jeep that he could have spent all week driving around in the nice weather,  yet they all made time this week to throw down 20 minutes of work!  You can do it too!

Here we have a picture of the RARE athletes that joined in the Turkey Trot this year, amongst them are Gabe (the second from the left) and Lee (the third from the right)–the top finishers for this week! 

Maybe the workout was too intimidating, maybe people had a much busier schedule than they had hoped, either way, I hope more of you will join in this week and give the workout a try.  Again, this isn’t about winning, it’s about participating and pushing yourself!  Before I post the next workout, I want to suggest that you put aside the time NOW, schedule in 30 minutes to complete this week’s workout.  Even if you didn’t do last week’s, this is a new chance to get moving!  Instead of watching a not-so-favorite sitcom, use that time to better yourself and your health!

No BS Open Workout Week 2

5 Rounds for time:

  • 100 meter dash
  • 10 air squats

I did this workout last summer while visiting my family in Indiana, with little equipment and time to spend working out–I was on vacation after all!  My then 4 year-old nephew joined in on this workout with me, I was running the length of the yard and back, so he would run about 25 meters then sit and wait for me to come back around, he would run the remaining 25 meters with me and do the squats.  It was not only cute, but motivating!  To see him fall, roll, then get right back up and keep his little legs running with his  arms flying around in the air, all the while laughing, was pretty inspiring!  If he can do it YOU can do it! 

I hope you’re looking at this workout thinking it looks a little more feasible for you and already making plans to get it done this week.  If you’re looking at this workout thinking it looks easy,(I can already hear you Mike) then add it to a heavy-lifting day.  Do 5 sets of 5 deadlifts and then go do this…see how “easy” it is, then!

Good luck to you all!  Post to the comments if you’d like to participate this week!  I’d love to have you join in! **SO SORRY Norah that I didn’t include you the first time around!  SO SORRY!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Norah says:

    WHERE IS MY SCORE???? I totally did this workout and sent it to you on Sunday morning. The address was from norahandadam@aol.com
    Is your address lssbradley@gmail.com?
    Thanks
    Norah

    1. Norah says:

      By the way, my time was 9:13.
      🙂

    2. Lauren says:

      You did TOTALLY DO THIS WORKOUT! And you TOTALLY DID IT GREAT! I just found your e-mail, I’m so sorry! I fixed it and made it all better! Sorry Norah, I’ll make it up to you! 🙂

      1. Norah says:

        No worries! That was a tough workout. I wanted credit! Haha!

  2. Mike says:

    You are oh so wrong, I don’t have a really cool Jeep, I have two of them, one just so happens to be, well, broken right now….

    As for the workout, I have made the mistake of saying it would be too “easy” before, not going to happen this time, but I do like the idea of incorporating heavy deadlifts before doing this one. No way Gabe beats me this time though…

  3. Gabe says:

    Mike I’m pretty sure you get to claim victory last week since I only did 20″ box jumps. Lee I am humbled by the butt kicking you handed Mike and I.

    Good luck this week everyone!

    1. Lauren says:

      No, you can’t let Mike win. He was chalked full of Wawa coffee during his workout, which is an illegal advantage.

  4. Lee says:

    Mike has the unfair advantage on this one, since his legs are several feet longer than everyone elses. Perhaps the heavy deads will even up the playing field.

    1. Mike says:

      I know I am scary fast so I will run 328 feet instead of the RX’d distance, plus heavy deadlifts…

  5. Lee says:

    I did WOD#2 at home yesterday. The neighbors probably thought I was a little nuts counting the concrete slabs that made up the pavement in front of our house. They were approximately 5 ft each, so I counted 66 of them to make up the 328 ft distance. This was fast and furious. The air squats were the tough part for me. My legs did not want to cooperate after round 2.
    3 Minutes exactly for my time. Glad it was only 5 Rounds 🙂

Leave a Reply

