Change begins where excuses end.

No BS Open Week 1

This is my version of the Crossfit Games Open 2011, for 6 weeks I will publish one workout per week for you to complete.  Just ONE workout per week, that’s all!  The workout will be posted Tuesday and must be completed by Sunday at midnight.  Complete the workout and send your results to me at lssbradley@gmail.com, it is up to you whether or not I post your results for others to see how you did, or post it to the comments for all to see!  At the end of 6 weeks, the person who has completed all six workouts with the best results will win the prize basket.  It’s not really about the prize, though, it’s about YOU!  Challenge yourself.  Do the workout once or every single day if you want!  So far I have 5 contestants, that’s double the amount that I had yesterday, I  hope to have 8 contestants by the end of the day.  You can join in at any time!  However, in order to win you must complete all 6 workouts!

All of these workouts include very little equipment; a chair to step up to, or a box to jump on and a jump rope.  If you’ve got those two things around, you are prepared!  There is NOTHING that should keep you from working out, your biggest obstacles are your mind and your excuses.  If you’d really like to make this 6 weeks into a successful journey, use the weekly meal plan to get your diet on track, and complete the workout I will post on Fridays to prepare you for the next week’s workout!

Week 1 Workout:

1 Round for time:

  • 70 lateral jumps over an obstacle 8 ” off the ground
  • 60 air squats (full depth= hip crease below the knee, see video)
  • 50 walking lunges (25 each leg, your knee must touch the ground, see video)
  • 40 sit-ups (follow instructions in video for full range of motion)
  • 30 box jumps or step ups onto an box or chair at least 12″ off the ground (see video)
  • 20 push ups (chest all the way to the ground)
  • 10 burpees (see video)

70 lateral jumps over an obstacle 8″ off the ground

60 air squats (squat to full depth, the crease of your hip at or below parallel to your knee)

50 walking lunges (25 lunges per leg) (your knee must touch the ground!)

40 sit-ups (complete full range of motion as demonstrated in this video, also incorporate the use of a towel or something to support your lower lumbar, as shown)

30 box jumps or step ups onto an object at least 12 inches off the ground

Box Jump:

Step Up:

20 push ups- These can be done from the knees or toes, whichever way you do it, make sure your chest TOUCHES the ground.

10 burpees

Each workout can be scaled to your capability, whatever you do, do the ABSOLUTE BEST you can.  I can’t wait to see more people participate!  Way to go Sara, Julie, Norah, Jen, and Evan for putting themselves out there to compete, who else wants a piece of the action?  This is for anyone and everyone; young, old, short, tall, big or small! E-mail me or post to comments if you have any questions or if you would like to participate!

14 comments on “No BS Open Week 1

  1. Jen W
    March 15, 2011

    Hey Lauren,
    I’m in for the No BS! Thanks for such a wonderful blog!!

    • Lauren
      March 15, 2011

      Jen, that sounds GREAT! This will help as you prepare for that half marathon, I’m REALLY glad to see that you signed up for the RARE 1/2 Marathon preparation. Between the two you are going to be a beast! Great work!

    • Jen W
      March 20, 2011

      18:34 for my WOD. The lateral jumps were tough! Took me awhile but I got the hang of it about 1/2 way through. Did 18″ Step Ups – couldn’t find a box big enough that I thought I could jump on. My tool/tack box had to suffice!

      • Lauren
        March 21, 2011

        Great job, Jen! Lateral jumps are tough….there are been times when I’ve nearly taken myself out with those. Something about jumping with little coordination skills! Way to finish it in addition to those RARE workouts!

  2. Jessica Ankney
    March 15, 2011

    I’m in!

    • Lauren
      March 15, 2011

      Word. You rock, Jessica! I can’t wait to see how much you like it…or hate it 🙂

  3. Mike
    March 16, 2011

    Count me in, will bang this out tonight.

    • Mike
      March 16, 2011

      10:29, 24″ Box Jumps, air squats slowed me down. Great workout Lauren, something to keep in the back pocket when on vacation / business travel.

      • Lauren
        March 16, 2011

        Nice job, Mike! That’s a really good time…so far you are number one in the men’s division….which consist of you and Evan 🙂 haha, great work! And thanks for promoting it!

  4. barb
    March 17, 2011

    It’s a great idea but way too hard for my old bones to manage.

    • Lauren
      March 17, 2011

      Barb,
      I don’t know how old your bones are, but have some faith in yourself! Cut everything in half and give it a try. At the gym I have taught everyone from 6 year old children to 60 year old women, and EVERYTHING can be scaled to work for your level. You’ve got to start somewhere! If this one is too much to start with, go to “Workouts” and pick one you can manage. The important part is trying!

  5. Gabe
    March 17, 2011

    Thanks for the awesome workout Lauren. Unfortunately I don’t have access to bumpers right now so this was awesome.

    I didn’t have a barbell so I stacked two sandbags and lateral jumped over those. 20″ box jumps.

    10:24

    Mike you’re the man….

    • Lauren
      March 18, 2011

      Awesome job, Gabe! I’m glad to hear your sticking with the xfit even though you’re very busy! Awesome job…now there are three men in the men’s division. The competition is getting steep 🙂 Thanks for commenting and participating, Gabe! We miss you at RARE!

  6. Lee
    March 18, 2011

    Not sure where my earler post went, but Lauren I am in too. Have felt a bit under the weather for the last couple of day’s but hope to get this done tonight. Will definitely have it completed by Sunday. Great job Mike and Gabe. You are already setting the bar high.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2011 by in Physical Fitness.
