Change begins where excuses end.

2 Easy Shake Recipes

Sitting at my computer this morning, I was stumped…what to write about?  The words don’t flow freely from my fingertips everyday, there are days where I could write three or four posts if I had the time, then other days where I’ve got nothin’.  So, I walked away from the computer for a little bit, went to the basement and did some squats, came back up… still nothin’.  Went to the kitchen and made a shake… still nothin’.  Got ready for work (hallelujah for jeans day)…. still nothin’.  Back to the computer, shake in hand, I sat down and it dawned on me….this is my favorite shake and I’ve never shared the recipe before.  So, today I’ll keep it short and sweet, just like my favorite Coco-Coffee Shake.

Most mornings I prefer eggs for breakfast, as I want something warm and comforting to wake up to, but last night I forgot to turn the heat down before we went to bed so it was already warm in the house.  Instead, this morning I went to my go-to shake recipe.  I am not a huge fan of fruit smoothies, I go for one every once in a while, but not too often.  I like to have my coffee in then morning, so why not put it in my shake?  We have 2 full size blenders, but we use our smaller, single serving blenders.  It is easier to clean and store, so it makes for a convenient breakfast, lunch, dinner, or snack.  Shakes/smoothies are a great way to get a quick meal or snack in, and they’re fun to create!

Coco-Coffee Shake

  • 1/3 c. coconut milk (we buy the cans and make sure we get the one that doesn’t have water as an ingredient)
  • 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder (28 grams protein, and yes, I realize this is processed, it’s one of the two processed foods we have in the house–the pro’s far outweigh the cons on this one)
  • 1 c. cold coffee
  • 4 ice cubes

When I have natural peanut butter, I like to put a scoop of that in there, or if I’m feeling especially chocolately, I will add a couple teaspoons of cocoa.  The wonderful thing about shakes/smoothies is that you can do pretty much WHATEVER you want with them!  Instead of ice cubes, you could use frozen bananas…the possibilities are endless.

My husband prefers the fruity shake, which looks more like this:

Berry Coconutty Shake

  • 1/3 c. coconut milk
  • 1 c. frozen berries
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein
  • 1/4 c. water(or juice if you’d like)

There are endless options when it comes to smoothies,  I’ve been wanting to try some of the options posted on Mark’s Daily Apple.  Now that the warmer weather is coming, maybe I’ll get around to it!  I hope you have a GREAT and casual Friday!

One comment on “2 Easy Shake Recipes

  1. Pingback: Real Food Snacks «

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2011 by in Recipes.
