Put the Work in Workout

This week  I added the “Workouts” tab in the upper right-hand corner.  Each week or every couple days I will add a workout to the list.  I hope you’ll take a look because I make up these workouts with YOU in mind.  By YOU, I mean YOU, yeah you, sitting there reading this article because you’re interested in getting healthier.  A critical part to getting healthier is exercising, if you already exercise and have stopped seeing results, that’s probably because your body has changed, but your momentum hasn’t.  It’s time to step it up a notch, turn the music up loud (you know you want to), get your heart rate going and start sweating.  You can’t look good and get fit at the same time, ask anyone at our gym.  It’s nearly impossible to take a picture of someone working out where they look their best.

Exhibit A:

Exhibit B:

There are lots more pictures of me looking terrible during a workout, but I don’t see the need to pull them all out. The point is, if you can laugh, hold casual conversation, all the while reading a magazine, and that’s about as intense as your workouts get…you may want to think about turning up the heat.

These workouts are geared toward people who don’t have a lot of time, money, or equipment to workout, or for people who have tons of time, an unlimited budget, and access to a full-service gym. In other words, THESE WORKOUTS ARE FOR EVERYONE.  Give them a try, if you’re not used to high intensity, functional movement, you will find these workouts to be hard, which is EXACTLY why you should try them.  The first one will be rough, but each one will get a little bit easier as you progress and get healthier.  I can’t describe to you the level of accomplishment you will feel from completing a challenging workout, you will realize that although your mind may say “I can’t,” YOU CAN.

Check out the “Workouts” section, also look back at the Don’t Wait for It, Work for it! or Kettlebells in the Kitchen or Get to Work! articles for instruction on proper, safe technique while doing the movements.  Also, under “Categories” on the side bar, you can click see all articles written about Physical Fitness that I have written in the past.

Happy Tuesday, my friends.  May today be a healthy, active, adventurous day for you.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Susan says:

    Oh Lauren…I love your blog! I appreciate the “realness” you bring to exercise and even your recipes. I’ve always known you could write beautifully and had plenty of self-motivation, but it’s great that you are sharing that with all of us! So thanks! 🙂

    1. Lauren says:

      Thanks Susan! It’s so good to get comments and find out who is reading! Self motivation is hard to come by sometimes, I rely heavily on the people around me to keep me in check! It’s SO good to hear from you…time flies and we all grow up, weird, huh? Thanks for reading, I appreciate the support, Susie Q 🙂

Leave a Reply

