Change begins where excuses end.

This Week: Lauren’s Local Loves

Growing up in a small community, it was not difficult to support local businesses because that’s pretty much all we had!  Now that I am far from that little town and surrounded by chains and big business, it takes a little more commitment and effort to support local businesses… but worth it.  It’s important to take a closer look at your community for  opportunities to support the local economy, not only to shop for food, but also those talented merchants, artists, and service people around you.  This week I will be highlighting some of my local favorites in the Stafford/Fredericksburg, Virginia area.  For all of my Midwestern readers, I’m sorry to leave you out, maybe you could tell me about some of your wonderful, local venues and give us Virginians a few ideas!

Today I would like to introduce Ashley Riemann Photography.   As a teacher, military spouse, and mother of an young, energetic son, Ashley is busy, busy, busy, but finds time to pursue photography as a passion and expression of her artistic side. She specializes in natural lighting and has a knack for capturing the energy and personality of families in the midst of life’s most memorable moments.  It shows in her work that she loves to capture the joy and natural glow of expecting mothers, as well as the calm (or not so calm) purity of little ones.  Ashley’s work is just beautiful.

How precious… talk about capturing an emotion in a photo.

This gives me baby fever, what a perfect shot.

In this little world we live in as military spouses, it is so fun to get to know beautiful, strong women, like Ashley, who have so many talents and treasures to share.  I have said many times how much I look to my friends for strength, support, and inspiration, now you know why–  I have some very talented ladies to look to!  Not only is Ashley a photographer, wife, mother, and teacher, but she is also a great cook!  I had the opportunity to try some of her Italian Quiche a couple weeks ago and it ROCKED!  I definitely ate more than the dainty, baby-shower-size portion… Although we may not be able to find the perfect recipe that got those gorgeous photos, at least we can try our hand at her quiche.

Italian Quiche

  • 10 Eggs
  • 2 Cups of cheese (I used a pre-shredded bag of mozzarella and provolone mix) I also use Monerrey Jack cheese when making the quiche both taste great.
  • 1 pack of Italian sausage
  • half a pack of frozen chopped spinach defrosted and drained
  • 1/4 Cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp Basil
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 2 T Parsley you can use dry or fresh I prefer fresh parsley but both taste great. If you do decided to use fresh parsley then use a 1/4 cup
  • 1/4 cup onion
  • dash of salt
  • dash of pepper
  • 2 cloves of chopped garlic
  • 1/2 Cup Italian Bread crumbs
  • 1/4 Cup of milk
  • *I also enjoy adding a handful of chopped mushrooms to the quiche*

1. Mix all ingredients together in mixing bowl.

2. Place in greased 9 x 13 casserole dish.

3. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out (fairly) clean.

**The ingredients came from Ashley and the directions came from me, sorry, Ashley if I totally screwed that up. 🙂

PS- I did not include a picture of the quiche because my iPhone photo don’t stack up next to Ashley’s!

If you are interested in knowing more about Ashley Riemann Photography, she can be contacted at amriemann@gmail.com or http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ashley-Riemann-Photography/169087496441572.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
