Nourishment

Upon entering the room for an annual check up, my doctor smiled brightly and said “Miss Lauren!  How have you been, I haven’t seen you in a while!?!”  I smiled because this is the same thing she said the last time I saw her, “I’ve been well, that’s why!”  I told her, laughing.  Since my last check-up, I’ve been to the doctor once, due a sinus infection that left me curled up on the sofa for a couple days, but other than that, I have been healthy.  As the apointment went on, we got to talking about diet and I told her I primarily eat; meat, vegetables, fruits, and fats, and try to stay away from grains because they leave me feeling cloudy and bloated.  I was expecting to hear her say something about needing grains, but she didn’t, her face lite up and she said “No wonder you’re so healthy, those are the best foods for you!” 

I know I was questioning doctors a few days ago, but her response restored my faith.  We talked about how processed foods have made a terrible impact on the health of our nation, and how the fear of fat and love of rice, pasta, and bread is misleading and dangerous.  We also talked about the steroids found in meat that are causing puberty in very young children.   I also shared some of the thoughts I had on the meat from pastured animals and how that meat is full of the rich nutrients our body needs, without the added antibiotics and steroids.  We didn’t go into great detail, but she did share that at the heart of the disease, obesity, and early puberty was diet.  AMEN HALLELUJAH GIRLFRIEND!

On the way home, I thought more about the power of eating whole, natural, nourishing food and it’s life altering benefits.  Of course it will helps us have more energy and lose weight, but the affects go far beyond the waist line.  Eating nourishing food keeps us out of the doctor’s office and off of medication, it allows us to concentrate and think sharply, it helps us ward off disease, it keeps our skin clear and vibrant, allows for the growth of strong bones, teeth, and muscles, and lastly, it keeps you  in touch with your own body’s needs.  By paying close attention to the quality and origin of your food, you’ll also gain appreciation for the food you need and deserve.

My sister has introduced me to a couple great websites that I would like to pass along.  These sites are full of wonderful information on eating whole, nourishing foods.  I encourage you to visit them and start thinking more about the healing and preventative power of the food you eat and feed your family.  Ask yourself, “Is this going to help or hurt my body?  Is there something my body needs more or less of?”  Is it hard for you to believe that food alone could cure your ailments?  There is only one way to find out: eat whole, nourishing foods and see how your body reacts.  I bet it will just keep begging you for more.

www.westonaprice.org

About the Weston A. Price Foundation

“The Weston A. Price Foundation is a nonprofit, tax-exempt charity founded in 1999 to disseminate the research of nutrition pioneer Dr. Weston Price, whose studies of isolated nonindustrialized peoples established the parameters of human health and determined the optimum characteristics of human diets. Dr. Price’s research demonstrated that humans achieve perfect physical form and perfect health generation after generation only when they consume nutrient-dense whole foods and the vital fat-soluble activators found exclusively in animal fats.

The Foundation is dedicated to restoring nutrient-dense foods to the human diet through education, research and activism. It supports a number of movements that contribute to this objective including accurate nutrition instruction, organic and biodynamic farming, pasture-feeding of livestock, community-supported farms, honest and informative labeling, prepared parenting and nurturing therapies. Specific goals include establishment of universal access to clean, certified raw milk and a ban on the use of soy formula for infants.”

www.nourishedkitchen.com

About Nourished Kitchen

“A labor of love, Nourished Kitchen’s goal is to promote sustainable agriculture and nutrient-dense, whole foods in everyday kitchens.  The focus here is on whole, unrefined foods prepared according to traditional methods that optimize nutrient density.  Cherish your body, nourish your kitchen.”

Happy reading and happy Friday…

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sara Stclair says:

    Lauren you are doing a wonderful job on the blog. It makes me smile. #1 I can picture you saying these things in conversation and #2 there is a lot of VERY good information. This can impact many peoples lives if they choose to seriously think about the content and then take action to make changes in their lives! Keep it up!

  2. Katie says:

    Great post, and I love the new layout. (Also, congratulations on gettting the ScaryLou endorsement.)

Leave a Reply

