Muffin Madness

I got a question from a friend yesterday about how to make her recipe for banana carrot muffins a bit healthier.  We discussed using a sugar alternative, such as honey or agave nectar, or using less sugar, these are both great options for making recipes more healthy.  I also showed her a recipe for muffins made without sugar or flour that I got from a website and thought she might want to try.  Then I realized that I’d never made the recipe before, and I might want to give it a try before recommending it!  I tried the recipe and found it to be very bland, even after adding some extra spices.  So, I scrapped the recipe and set out to make a better one.

Usually when I make recipes I don’t use any kind of thickner because it raises the glycemic index of the food.  Sometimes though, you just want something that resembles bread, cookies, or in this case, muffins, so I have used cornstarch in these, which has greatly improved the consistency without changing the taste.  This recipe started off as a Banana Carrot muffins and through a series of taste tests became Chocolate Banana Carrot with an Occasional Raisin Muffins.

Chocolate Banana Carrot (with an Occasional Raisin) Muffins

  • 1 banana
  • 2 large carrots
  • 1 1/2 c. almond meal
  • 3 T. cocoa
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 1 T. baking soda
  • 1 T. baking powder
  • 1/4 c. cornstarch
  • 2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. cloves
  • 1/4 c. raisins (optional, I only added them because they fell out of the cabinet and seemed like a good idea. You could also add walnuts or pecans, that would be tasty.
  • 2 T. honey
  • 2 T. water
  • 1/4 c. greek yogurt (or 2 additional eggs, I used yogurt because I was running out of eggs)
  • 1 egg.

1. Put the carrot and the banana in the food processor and blend it until it is all orange and soupy.

2. Mix all dry ingredients together in a bowl.

3. Mix all of the wet ingredients in a different bowl (or just throw them all in the food processor and give it a whirl).

4. Mix the wet and dry ingredients together.

5. Put the mixture in greased muffin tins.  If you are using mini-muffin tins, put enough dough in each tin so that it makes a nice mound about 3/4 in high on top- they don’t rise too much so it’s perfect.

If you are using regular muffin tins, fill them to the top, but not over, it will take too long to bake if there’s too much dough.

6. If you are using mini-muffin tins like I did, this will make 13 muffins, if you are using regular size muffin tins, I don’t know how many it will make–6-8 I would imagine.

7. Bake the muffins for 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees, the larger muffin tins may take longer.  You will know they’re finished when you can press down on the top of them (gently) and you wont make a hole.  Or when you shove a tooth pick in them and it comes out clean.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Thomas Mayhill says:

    Lauren: I am searching for protein bar recipes….Can you offer a suggestion. Thom

    PS: ….enjoying your blog and getting wonderful ideas for my own writings.

    1. Lauren says:

      Tom,
      Christee actually has a great recipe for protein bars, I tried to re-create it, but mine turned out terrible. Hers, on the other hand, were awesome. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

