Change begins where excuses end.

Leggo my Eggo!

I’m in one of those unbelievably good moods, I almost feel bad about how happy I am….no school today!  There was a lot of freezing rain last night and apparently even the trees are covered with ice (I wouldn’t know, I haven’t been outside yet).

“So what will you do with your day,” my husband asked?

“Whatever I want!”  I replied.

Maybe I will finish some of the things on my to-do list that I somehow forgot to do over the long weekend.  Maybe I will rent a couple movies and curl up on the couch.  Maybe I will try a few new recipes.  Maybe I will re-arrange furniture.  Ohhhh the possibilities!

Before I get around to a day that is bound to feel like a lot of blissful nothingness, I’d like to share a recipe that I finally got around to writing down this weekend.  A few years ago I started doing the Zone diet, a diet that regulates insulin.  The key to it is eating protein, carbohydrates, and fats in proportion to each other so that the insulin response is minimal and controlled.  It was a difficult diet to follow, but the outcome for me was worth it, I finally learned how to control my insulin and my headaches and constant hunger stopped.  Now I prefer to follow a more paleolithic diet of; meats, vegetables, fruits, nuts, and seeds, but I sometimes use the Zone concept when I want something that doesn’t fall within those food groups, but I don’t want the damaging insulin response.

While I was on the Zone I used to make their “Bed and Breakfast Waffles,” using oats, cottage cheese, eggs and a couple other ingredients.  I know, it sounds very strange, but by including the protein from the egg and the cottage cheese, in conjunction with the consistency of the oats it made a waffle that curbed my appetite for sweet foods and didn’t set off a huge insulin response.  AND I could eat it everyday for breakfast if I wanted to, and I was still following the Zone!  It was a win/win for me, I got waffles while still controlling my insulin response and losing weight.  Now that I’ve learned to use the paleolithic approach, meaning I do my best eat the same foods the hunter-gatherer culture of the paleolithic era (before there was agriculture), I don’t eat oats or cottage cheese very often, so this recipe is something I make occasionally.

I’ve tempered with the recipe to make it more simple over the years and come up with a new name, with the help of my father.

Weird Waffles

  • 1/2 c. cottage cheese
  • 3/4 c. rolled oats
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 T. honey
  • 1/8 c. coconut milk
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon

Mix all of the ingredients in a food processor or blender until they reach batter consistency.

Then pour them into a waffle iron, I find it best not to fill the waffle iron, smaller waffles work better.

It is also best to put the desired crispness level on medium, less than that will make them doughy, more than that will make them burnt!

For toppings, we usually use almond butter, peanut butter, or a fruit mixture.  For the fruit mixture, place frozen berries in a sauce pan and let them cook down until they thicken up a bit, I also add some honey to sweeten the fruit up.

There you have it, waffles that won’t make you feel all sleepy and bloated, and they won’t get you off track as you work toward better health, either! They can also be frozen and popped in the toaster, they’re way better for you than Eggos, and your kids can make their own breakfast that way!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 18, 2011 by in Recipes.
