Change begins where excuses end.

Energy, Power, and Positivity

I often get on here to write and realize that I just wanted to write about what a great day I had or something interesting that has happened to me, I then remind myself  “this is a nutrition and fitness blog, not a Lauren blog.”  So, I try to tie in those random topics with something about nutrition or fitness, I realize sometimes it is a bit of a stretch, but oh well.  Here I go again…

This morning I got together with a group of other military spouses for coffee, in the past I have been bad about getting together with others because I think of all of the things I have to do or should be doing.  All too easily, I forget how refreshed and fulfilled I get after spending time with friends who share common interest or lifestyles.  After 3 and 1/2 hours of talking and a couple cups of coffee, I immediately felt better and was ready to take on my daily challenges, such as working out, teaching, cleaning, cooking…somehow just talking to other women recharged my interest in all of the above. How does that happen?  We start asking each other questions to get to know one another, and we begin discussing our interest and explaining different aspects of our lives and quickly realize they’re really not too mundane after all!

Sometimes I think I’m crazy for teaching high school special education, but then these women whom I barely know start telling me how great they think it is, and I think back to the times when it is pretty great and I am ready to conquer another school day. Another woman wants to get together to work out, while another wants to discuss nutrition and cooking.  Is it because we’re all experts on the subject? No way, it’s because we’re all concerned with the same aspects in our lives; keeping our selves, our families, and our children healthy.  We all struggle with getting everything done sometimes, we talk about it, we exchange ideas, we encourage one another to take time to restore our own souls and become better mothers, friends, and wives because of it.

Health isn’t just about your body, it’s about your mind and your spirit as well.  It’s about balance.  It’s hard to become physically healthy when your mind does not feel well.  It is hard to be mentally healthy when your spirit is wounded.  It’s hard to be spiritually healthy without a sound mind.  It’s hard to have a healthy mind without a healthy body.  It is all connected for a reason.  We need health in all aspects; mind, body, and spirit.

I’ll admit, it’s pretty easy for me to become negative and get down on myself, I am my biggest critique.  Therefore, I make a conscious effort to stay around people who make me feel positive.  There are certain people at school that I have stopped asking about their day, because the answer is often negative and I don’t want that kind of negative energy around me.  When I started working out at RARE Crossfit, Adam, the head coach, told me I wasn’t allowed to be negative about myself anymore, he didn’t want to hear any of it.  My husband had been telling me the same thing for years, but I thought he just had a biased opinion about my greatness.  When I heard someone who barely knew me say the same thing, it really struck me and got me thinking about what my negative attitude was doing to my potential.

At RARE, we work really hard to build a positive atmosphere, and with all of those endorphins flying around it’s really not that difficult.  You know that runner’s high that people talk about? It’s real, you can get high with exercise….for free!  When I begin my mornings by working out or even just stretching, I have a much better attitude throughout the rest of the day.  I am no scientist, I just know that I feel good when I workout, I feel REALLY good.  I feel positive and powerful, who doesn’t want that?  Are you feeling weak and negative lately?  Drained of energy?  Sick of the same routine?  Look at your hands, look at your feet….those are the tools that will bring you energy, power, and positivity.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, call up a friend to help you out.  Get in a workout-therapy session and leave each other feeling better in mind, body, and spirit.  It’s way cheaper than a personal trainer and a therapist.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 15, 2011 by in Nutrition, Recipes.
