Hallelujah for Chicken and Snow Days!

Good morning!  And a good morning it is.  Is it because my school is closed due to inclement weather?  That may have something to do with it, I think it has more to do with the fact that my motivation to cook, clean, and write has come back!  I’m not sure where it has been for the last month, but I have been less than passionate about the things I usually love to do.  I haven’t really fought it, I just took a break and waited for the motivation to come back, and it has.  Right now I am enjoying my slow-school-less morning by eating a piece of the baked eggs with sausage crust and a little Greek yogurt.  It is going to be a good day.

We got out of school 2 hours early yesterday, also because of the weather, so I came home and ate lunch and took a nap with my husband (I wouldn’t want to have wasted a snow day working at home)!  Then I headed to my wonderful chiropractor/magician and on to the gym, where I had a wonderful time visiting and working out.  Headed home, I was thinking about what to make for dinner and prioritizing a to-do list in my head to get done before I went to bed.  Walking up the slippery stairs to my front door, I was thinking about the mess of unpacking we still had in the living room and the dishes from lunch in the sink…sigh.  But I opened the door and the mess was gone!  The kitchen and living room were spotless!  Hallelujah!  My husband had been power-cleaning around the house all afternoon and all that was left for me to do was make dinner.

In classic Lauren fashion, I had forgotten to pull anything out of the freezer to defrost, so I pulled some chicken breasts out of the fridge, a green pepper, mozzarella cheese, sausage, and some crushed tomatoes out of the pantry.  Hmmm…it was like an episode of Top Chef.

I pounded out the chicken to about 1/2 inch using a rolling pin, which I never cease to enjoy, then placed them in a casserole dish.  After slicing the green pepper, I placed a slice on top of each chicken breast and placed next to it a link of uncooked sausage about the size of what you’d get at a restaurant.

After sprinkling it with mozzarella cheese, I rolled the chicken breasts around the filling, stuck them all on a skewer (because I was out of toothpicks), laid them in a casserole dish.

Because my marinara sauce was frozen solid in the freezer, I used some plain-ol’ crushed tomatoes to pour over top the chicken, then sprinkled it with a little dried basil and baked them at 350 for 25 minutes.

When my husband asked what was for dinner, I said “I’m not really sure what it is yet.”  But now I think I’ll call it “Hallelujah Chicken!” because I was in such a great mood while making it.  For the first time in a month I was singing in the kitchen!  It turned out well, I will make it again.  Next time I will make it with marinara sauce, a little onion, and more cheese.  To go along with it, I sauteed some huge asparagus in a pan with olive oil, some butter, salt, and pepper.

While waiting for the chicken to bake, I made some breakfast casserole to help make our early mornings a little easier.  First, I got out a 9 inch pie pan and filled the bottom with a layer of sausage.  I got this idea from Lou Malnati’s Pizza of Chicago (here I go with the pizza again), for a sausage pizza they use a layer of sausage that covers the entire surface of the crust before they put on marinara, cheese, and other toppings…and it is fabulous. I thought it would be a great addition to some breakfast casserole!  After filling the bottom of the pie pan with a layer of sausage, I stuck it in the oven with the chicken for about 6 minutes, or until I could smell the sausage cooking.  I didn’t cook it all the way through because I didn’t want it to burn when I cooked it with the eggs, later.

While the sausage cooked I cracked 9 eggs and whisked them with a couple tablespoons of water.  Then I mixed in half of a diced green pepper, one cup of shredded mozzarella cheese, salt and pepper.  After taking the sausage out of the oven, I poured the egg mixture over top and put it back in for another 25 minutes.  You’ll know it’s done with it begins to get golden brown on the top and the middle of the pie starts to puff up a bit.

The egg casserole turned out well too, maybe I will call it “Snow Day Sausage Casserole.” Give both of these recipes a try and you can call it whatever you want,  just enjoy a healthy meal with your family and be thankful for the day.  Have a great one…

One Comment Add yours

  1. Katie says:

    These both look great! I love the idea of replacing the quiche crust w/ sausage (especially attractive to a woman with freezers full of meat and no patience for pastry)!

Leave a Reply

