No BS Challenge

On November 8th, I challenged you to 4 weeks of creating a more healthy lifestyle for you and your family.  It is now four weeks later, you’ve had 30 days to work towards living optimally, how has it been?  I have faith that you’ve made huge strides, after all, you wouldn’t be reading this if you weren’t interested in creating a better life for yourself.  We’ve discussed many different ways to incorporate healthy change, such as; functional fitness, eating fresh food, less sugar, more protein, playing your kids, enjoying the process of creating and eating your food, starting healthy traditions, incorporating healthy foods into traditionally unhealthy meals, staying on track throughout the holiday season, along with multiple recipes and workouts to add to your daily routine!  If you’ve incorporated just one of these, CONGRATULATIONS!  You are on your way to a better life!

I began this challenge by saying there is nothing I would rather have for my birthday, than to know that just one person had been helped, encouraged, or inspired by anything I have said, done, or written, and that remains true.  Today, my wish is for a happy, healthy lifestyle for you and your family.  It may sound cliche, but I say it with the utmost sincerity. 

This evening I will be celebrating my birthday with some of my favorite people in the world at RARE Crossfit as we announce the winners of the Better Body Challenge 2.  I am so proud of the challengers who have devoted the last 5 weeks to intense workouts and cleaning up their diet, we’ve had GREAT progress.  Will you celebrate with me by completing my birthday workout?  You can do it at home, and it’s one of those fun workouts that your kids can participate in!  Remember, scale it to your capabilities, but don’t underestimate yourself!  As my birthday “gift” from my friends at RARE, I’ll be completing it with a 20 pound vest and I will be using it as a reminder of what it felt like 6 years ago to be 20 pounds heavier and a lot less healthy!

Five rounds for time of:

Bear Crawl 100 feet

Broad Jump 100 feet

Do 3 burpees after every five broad jumps.

If you’ve never tried any of the workouts I’ve posted, give this one a try!  A bear crawl is done on all fours, walking on your feet and hands (think mogli from the Jungle Book).  A broad jump merely means to stand in one place and jump as far forward as you can, when you land, take another leap until you’ve gone 100 feet, or whatever you decide the right distance is for you!  A video of what a burpee looks like can be found on the post “Get To Work” on the far right column.

Have a great day and Happy St. Nicholas Day!

Leave a Reply

