Change begins where excuses end.

The Best Shape of Your Life

A photo of myself being coached through a workout by Adam Eidson (the one standing over my shoulder), Crossfit Rare Owner and Head Trainer.

On Monday, I posted a few workouts that can be done inside as the weather is getting colder.  These workouts are more than just convenient, they are functional.  The term functional fitness is becoming more and more “popular” and for good reason,  the purpose of functional fitness is to train your mind and body for real life situations.

After high school, most people stop training for sports and often stop training altogether.  What about training for life?  Training to take hikes with your family, training to be able to push yourself up off the floor, to be able to pick-up a heavy box safely and place it on the shelf– the list is endless.  Whatever your fitness goals, I would imagine living life to its fullest, without physical limitations is among them!  Fortunately, you don’t need any expensive, complicated equipment to become functionally fit.  Simple exercises like push-ups, squats, pull-ups, sprints, lunges, and sit-ups are all functional movements that train us for real life situations.

The workouts I do daily are simple and fast,  they involve very little time and equipment.  In addition to these fast, intense workouts constructed from functional movements, I do weightlifting, running, rowing, and a few gymnastic movements.  By combining these different exercises, I am constantly training my entire body, never focussing on one specific part or sport.  I want to be ready for anything at anytime!

The gym I train at is a Crossfit affiliate, meaning they follow the Crossfit theory; “Crossfit is a strength and conditioning system built on constantly varied, if not randomized, functional movements executed at high intensity.”  It is simply functional fitness that trains you for the unknown and unknowable aspects of life.  The great thing about Crossfit, or any functional fitness, is it’s adaptability to anyone.  I have trained 11 year old boys and 60 year old women and everyone in between, all doing the same workout,  just scaled to their capabilitites.  There are Crossfit affiliates around the world if you are intersted in joining.  Look at www.crossfit.com to find the nearest location.  The great thing about Crossfit or any other functional fitness program is that it can be done anywhere with little or no equipment.

Since I have begun training to be functionally fit, I have gotten faster, stronger, and gained a great amount of endurance, and on my 24th birthday I will be able to say “I am in the best shape of my life.”  So, before your next birthday, start working toward functional fitness, let this be the year you get in the best shape of your life!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2010 by in Nutrition, Physical Fitness.
