Tradition

I did it…I got out the Christmas decorations yesterday, although they’re still lying in the basement. I’ll even admit to listening to Christmas music already.  Phew…I feel much better getting that off my chest. 🙂  I can’t help it, I love the holidays–getting together with family, watching Miracle on 34th Street, lights, baking, Advent, and it’s finally socially appropriate to listen to Christmas carols again!  Thanksgiving preparations have got me thinking about all of the family traditions that go on throughout the months of November and December, especially.  Also, considering how those traditions have encourage family ties and healthy (and some not so healthy) habits.

Tradition is a very important part of the holiday season, it is comforting, exciting, and it tends to cultivate very fond memories for adults and children alike.  My childhood was full of traditions for birthdays, holidays, and many of the days in between.  Since we’ve been married, my husband and I have begun our own traditions, such as; birthday “weeks,” running on Thanksgiving morning, road trips in the summer, and meeting up with friends on the weekend.

What are your family traditions?  Are there any new traditions you would like to begin?  I encourage you to start them!  Family traditions can help create strong bonds even for siblings with the least in common!  I would also encourage you to start some new, healthy family traditions; run a Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving day, go hiking, cook a meal together once a week, take a bike ride together–brainstorm with your family and see what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

