Change begins where excuses end.

An Invisible Audience

I tell my English students to think about their audience when writing or speaking, because good writers and speakers consider their audience when choosing their word choice, topic, and their presentation style.  For my English students this can sometimes be a hard concept to grasp, but it will help them immensely when communicating with others, either verbally or through writing.

When deciding what to write for No BS, I also consider my audience.  I try to write about things that are motivating with simple ways to begin creating a healthy lifestyle, as that is the purpose of this blog.  Often times, though, I find it difficult to know WHAT to write about because here I have an invisible audience!  I know who a handful of you are and I know the rest of you are out there, but you are a mystery to me!  Knowing who my readers are would help me choose the right topics to discuss.  For example; the information I would give an experienced athlete is different than the information I would discuss with a novice just beginning to exercise.

I want to continue writing about things that are interesting to YOU!  If you would like to help me my invisible audience, in the comments tell me whether you would consider yourself beginner, intermediate, or experienced in the areas of nutrition and fitness and what some of your interests are.  Also, feel free to share a topic you would like to see discussed on No BS!

I hope you are having a GREAT weekend, mine is going by slowly and it is just wonderful! Talk to you tomorrow!

2 comments on “An Invisible Audience

  1. Deb
    November 21, 2010

    I know a lot about health and nutrition, because I’ve read books and articles on it. My problem is the inconsistency in my lifestyle. You have motivated me to “begin again”. After our trip to Colie’s for Thanksgiving, I’m going to dive in and reaquaint myself with my clothes hanger, i.e. treadmill! Thanks for the encouragement.

    • Lauren
      November 23, 2010

      Deb,
      Thank you 🙂 I can’t tell you how great it feels to be able to encourage people who have been supporting and encouraging me throughout my entire life! I understand the inconsistency, that’s the hardest part about all of this. Sometimes getting a friend helps, or just like we do with our students, setting up a goal or reward system for yourself. Also, I find that changing things up makes it MUCH easier to stick to something, I know you run, maybe you could try some interval workouts. http://www.crossfitendurance.com puts up an interval workout everyday, personally I’d much rather do this type of workout than run a long distance. Also, these type of workouts will improve your endurance more than running long distances. I hope this helps 🙂 Thanks again for YOUR encouragement. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 21, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
