Sausage Stuffed Pumpkin

A week (or so) ago, I wrote about my first stuffed pumpkin experience, I had so much fun making it and couldn’t wait to make it again….then I couldn’t find pie pumpkins ANYWHERE!  Not even at the farmer’s market….I was baffled.  How was I going to give you a tasty recipe for stuffed pumpkin if I didn’t have a pumpkin to stuff?  Well, good news, I found one….or four.  After school yesterday, I headed to Richmond to pick up our turkey at Farm to Family and fortunately, they had an abundance of pie pumpkin.  Hallelujah!  I know you are just as relieved as I am.  The first stuffed pumpkin I made was too bland, I didn’t add enough salt and pepper because I thought the sausage would add enough and it was just missing something.  So, the second time around, this is what I came up with:

Sausage Stuffed Pumpkin

Ingredients:

  • 1 pie pumpkin
  • 1/2 # sausage
  • 1 tbs. French herbs (it’s a mixture of parsley, tarragon, chives, basil, rosemary and Marjoram…I’m not even sure what that one is.  You could substitute any of these herbs or Herbs de Provence.)
  • 1/2 c. frozen peas
  • 1/2 c. cheese (I’m using mozzarella because that is my husband’s favorite…I think this would be fantastic with Gruyere or something smoked)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 1/4 c. pulverized almonds
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • at least one child to scoop out pumpkin guts

Pumpkin Surgery:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

1. Cut the top off your pumpkin like a jack-o-lantern, make the “incision” a little bit further down so you have room to work on the guts.

2. Get all of the guts out, save the seeds–FREE SNACK!

3. Brown your sausage, throw in minced garlic at the end and let it cook for a minute.

4. Put the  sausage, cheese, herbs, salt, pepper, and peas in your pumpkin and mix up (that sounds like a great job for a kid!)

5. Place in a lightly greased baking container.

6. Set in oven for 2 hours.

7. While baking; knit a scarf, re-organize your entire kitchen, or play a game with your children who are dying to know why dinner is taking so long.  This is very much a weekend meal, only because it takes so long in the oven, but the prep is pretty easy, even with the pumpkin gutting it only took me 15 minutes.  Bonus: the end product is GORGEOUS.

8. When you take it out of the oven let it set for a second and just stare at how beautiful it is.

9. Take off the lid and drool over the smell of melted cheese, then, using a spoon, scoop out the sides of the pumpkin and mix it with the sausage, cheese, and peas until you get one soupy-casserole consistency.

10. At this point, do a taste test and see if it needs more salt and pepper, part of the joy of cooking is tasting along the way!

11.  Don’t remove it from the baking dish, it will fall apart!  Serve directly from the pumpkin to plate!

 

Also–the weekly meal plan and grocery list will be up in the next hour.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sara Stclair says:

    This is easy, delicious, and I can’t wait to make it for guests!

Leave a Reply

