Change begins where excuses end.

I Trot to Eat A Lot

This morning I am headed to Marine Corps Base Quantico to trot a little…Turkey Trot that is 🙂  I missed the Marine Corps Marathon 10K on Halloween, so I signed up for this 10k instead.  It should be a beautiful 6.2 mile stretch, as all of the trees on base are changing colors and tomorrow’s weather calls for a few clouds, but mostly sunny and around 45 degrees in the morning  I haven’t been doing a lot of running, but so far Crossfit has prepared me for anything I’ve tried to do and I don’t think it will fail me now!

In 2005 I ran in my first 5K, it was a Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving day in Huntington, Indiana, a town close to my parent’s home.  I had been training for months and was very nervous about just being able to run the whole thing because I’d never done anything like this before.  In high school I was in cheerleading and tennis, neither of which had required me to run for extended periods of time.   Actually, aside from a couple 2 mile runs on the treadmill, I’d never run much at all!  Throughout my first semester of college I dabbled in the gym, but didn’t really know what I was doing so the ‘training’ I was doing was not that beneficial to me.  So, with all of these negative thoughts swimming through my head, I was worried.  The worry turned out to be pointless though because I did just fine, finishing in 30 minutes without even so much as walking.  Although I did struggle at times with hills and how cold it was, as my eyebrows and hair were frozen by the time I crossed the finish line, the run turned out to be a success.

I’ve run 5K many times since 2005, and even though I haven’t gotten a whole lot faster, every time the run gets easier and more enjoyable.  Once I conquered that fear of failing something I had never done before, I felt confident to try new challenges.  In January, when I started working out at RARE Crossfit, Adam, the owner, asked me if I wanted to compete in a Crossfit competition that was just two weeks away!  At first I laughed–because I hoped he was kidding, but then he kept bringing it up and one day I brashly told him I would, before I got too scared and said no.  I was SO nervous about that competition and just hoping not to be dead last.  Well, it turned out that I finished 17th out of 35 women and had a blast!  Again, all of the worries and doubts were completely wasted and I couldn’t wait to get into another competition.

Have you ever wanted to try something like that (a run or some other kind of event), but your worries and doubts have got you convinced that you won’t succeed?  The only way to overcome that fear is to face it head on and give it your best.  I bet there is a Turkey Trot in your area on Thanksgiving day, or some other kind of event in the near future. It doesn’t have to be running, there are lots of great community activities going on!  Go out there, test yourself.  Try something new!

When I get home from the race I am going to try a new recipe for Paleo Chocolate Pancakes that I got from The Label Says Paleo, hopefully they are as good as they look!  I was never able to make a good recipe for Paleo Pumpkin Pancakes, hopefully this will be a good replacement!  I will also have the weekly meal plan, grocery list, and recipe for stuffed pumpkin up this afternoon, so stay tuned!

Paleo Chocolate Pancakes
Makes about 10 small pancakes

• 2 eggs
• 1 TSP Ghiradelli unsweetened Cocoa Power (I typically add more)
• 1/4 tsp Vanilla extract
• 1/4 cup shredded coconut flakes
• 1/2 C unsweetened applesauce
• 1/4 C Almond butter
• 1/4 tsp cinnamon
Mix the ingredients in a bowl until you get a smooth batter. Add a little coconut oil to a skillet and add batter to form a small pancake. Cook for a minute or two and once you see the sides of the pancake starting to brown, flip the pancake. These are easier to flip than the original chocolate coconut pancakes. Once you have flipped the pancake, allow it to cook for a minute or two on the other side. Carefully remove and serve hot with sliced apples and strawberries.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2010 by in Physical Fitness.
