Happy Birthday Marine Corps!!

“Freedom isn’t free, but the United States Marine Corps will pay most of your share.” Ned Dolan

On Saturday after a long day of testing (I promise that’s the last time I’ll mention it) and a ride on the Farm Bus, my husband and I attended the 235th Marine Corps Birthday Ball.  This week all across the country Marines and family members will be celebrating the 235th birthday of the Marine Corps in similar fashion at their own ball.  As the Marine Corps is a family of tradition we started off the evening with colors, the Marine Corps Hymn, a ceremonial cake cutting, and words from the guests speaker.  The ceremony is followed by dinner, dancing and conversation (usually shouted over the DJ).

Although we’ve already attended the ball, today is actually the birthday of the Marine Corps.  235 years ago today, the Continental Congress met at Tun Tavern in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and a resolution was passed creating the Continental Marines.  Captain Samuel Nicholas became the first commissioned officer in the Marine Corps and would be the first Commandant of the Corps.  Since the Revolutionary War, our Marines have been “from the Halls of Montezuma to the shores of Tripoli” to defend our country from enemies “in the air, on land and sea.”

I’ve learned a lot about the Marine Corps during my time as the girlfriend, fiance, and wife of a Marine, and there’s not too much about it I don’t like.  Numerous times I’ve said that if I hadn’t fallen in love with Evan before I fell in love with the Marine Corps, I might have become a Marine myself.  Who knows how that would have worked out though, as I find it hard to work 5 days a week, let alone 7 days in strenuous circumstances I couldn’t even begin to comprehend–but I can always dream.

Every year during this week of November, I am constantly reminded by all of I have to be thankful for.  I know there are many men and women who have not had the joy of welcoming their loved one back from war.  to them I am thankful for supporting their Marine, Airmen, Soldier, or Sailor as he or she went off to war to protect me and my family.  I am thankful to those children who say “see you later” to Mommy or Daddy, so that some other little boy or girl can be protected for a little while.   I am thankful for those willing to stay out in the cold all night to train, willing to put their bodies through extreme training to be prepared to fight…for all of you, I am thankful.

Thank you, Marines, to you I owe my freedom and my utmost respect. Semper Fidelis.

Leave a Reply

