Change begins where excuses end.

What’s Cookin’ Good Lookin’?

If you’re anything like me, you find it very difficult to follow a weekly meal plan.  Your schedule gets hectic, plans change, the kids drank mountain dew on the bus ride home, you forgot to go to the store, and you go to plan B.  The only problem with Plan B is that it’s often not quite as healthy as Plan A.  So, in an effort to motivate you to stick with this week’s meal plan, last night I made pork chops smothered with homemade applesauce served with garlic-infused spinach with hopes that the pictures would make you hungry enough to give it a try.  Including my trip to the store to buy the spinach I forgot, the entire process took me 50 minutes.  It would have taken less time had I not been using brick-frozen-solid spinach.  Excuses, excuses.

I started by peeling and chopping my 6 apples and throwing them in a pot with a very small amount of water at the bottom.  (last night I either used too much water or my apples were very juice, the end result was runny applesauce, don’t use much water, just enough to ensure your apples don’t stick.

While my apples began to boil away, I got my pork chops out (Forest Fed from “Babes in the Wood”-the best pork we’ve ever had).  Notice my pork chops have a lot of fat, because they are Forest Fed and aren’t loaded with grains and steroids, I can feel good about eating it.

I put the pork chops in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes, my pork chops are 1 1/2 inches thick, so I shut off the oven after 20 minutes and let them sit in the hot oven until the rest of dinner was finished.  While those were cooking I ran to the grocery store and got my spinach and came home and dumped it in the pot, still completely frozen.

After the spinach was defrosted and warm I added the garlic and kept cookin’ until it was good and hot.  And all the parts to dinner were done at that point!  I slathered my runny applesauce onto my pork chops and served us both up a big serving of spinach (my favorite) and it only took about 1/10 of the time that it took to make dinner, to eat it!

You can’t tell but there is a huge pork chop under that apple sauce…yummm…..

Enjoy your dinner! And be sure to read below for my post from earlier….a good dinner and a good workout and you’ll be a whole new person!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 9, 2010 by in Nutrition.
