Change begins where excuses end.

Old Age is Hell

Amazingly, when I set out to find a study on the effect of physical activity on life expectancy, I didn’t find much.  Either there isn’t as much concern in this area as I expected, or it is common sense.  Judging by the amount of obesity in our population, I thought there would be a much greater concern.  One of the studies I did find reported that moderate and high physical activity levels led to 1.3 to 3.7 more years in total life expectancy.  That doesn’t sound like very long in the big scheme of things, but think of all the things that have happened in your life in the past 3 or 4 years.  Would you want to have missed that?  If my grandmother had passed at 89 instead of 93, I wouldn’t have gotten the opportunity to learn many life lessons from her that I wasn’t mature enough to understand until her late years.

I’ve heard many people say they don’t want to live to be old because “old age is hell” as my boss used to say.  But does it HAVE to be?

I’ve always wanted to live to be an old lady.  To have lots of grandchildren and great grandchildren, to share my stories and help them learn.  I’ve learned numerous lessons from my grandparents that no one else could have taught me.  I can’t wait until it’s socially acceptable to sit on my porch swing and knit all day while listening to my “stories” blasting from the living room.  Aside from the benefits of the The Red Hat Society and needlework, there can be much more than frailty and medication in store for you in your later years.  By creating a strong, healthy body now and maintaining it throughout your life old age won’t be hell.

So, how do you create a strong, healthy body now?  Exercise and eat real food (like what is on the meal plan!).  If you have not exercised in a very long time, or ever, don’t jump in head first without reservations.  Work your way into it, but don’t underestimate yourself.  If you’re going for a walk, walk as fast as you can, and when you get back to your driveway, jog up your driveway. With the addition of a more paleolithic diet you will be AMAZED at how quickly you are able to make fitness improvements.

If you usually jog (or wog), do a sprint/ jog workout and add in some squats, push-ups, and sit-ups.  If you’re a distance runner, throw in some cross training in the weight room, you’ll be amazed at what that strength does for your speed and endurance.  If you’re a Crossfitter, go faster, lift more.  Push yourself. REALLY exercise.  Sweat.  Get winded.  Raise your heart rate.  Sweat some more.   If you are exercising effectively you will experience discomfort.  “You only ever grow as a human being if you‘re outside your comfort zone.” PERCY CERUTTY

Your body WANTS to be in shape, your body is BEGGING you to be active and eat the things that will nourish it.  Your body is only limited by your mind.  If you think you’re too out of shape to ever be in shape again, stop thinking.

For those of you who may be totally new to this exercise thing, let me know and I will work with you to create a plan just for you.  I could be your very own personal trainer, all you have to do is ask. 🙂  Start today by doing the “Featured Workout” to the right.  No equipment is required and it should only take 20 minutes out of your day.  My suggestion is that you do it AS SOON as you get home from work, before you sit down and get comfortable, or shuffle the kids off to a sporting event.

For those of you who have been working, I bet you’re feeling great.  Maybe a little sore, but great.  Awesome work, keep moving!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 9, 2010 by in Physical Fitness.
