Tests… a Pain in my Quiche

This morning instead of heading to the farmers market, I’m headed to Richmond to take a couple tests in order to obtain something more than a provisional teachers license.  But, while I am sitting  in a cold, steril room taking a 7 1/2 hour tests, I hope you’re out enjoying the crisp autumn morning and maybe a local farmers market!

Usually (when not taking ridiculously long tests) on Saturdays I like to try to cook something new.  I am am terrible with following recipes, although I love to gather ideas from them and create something semi-similar.  Really, I just don’t have a long enough attention span to follow one.  But!  I have full confidence in your ability to follow recipes!  And Saturday is the perfect day to make a breakfast dish that requires more than milk and a spoon!

One of my favorite breakfast dishes is quiche, it can be made on the weekend and warmed up for a quick, protein packed breakfast any day of the week.  Although Paula Dean isn’t known as the healthiest cook on Food Network, I did find a recipe of hers for crustless quiche that looks very good.  This recipe definitely wouldn’t qualify as “Paleolithic” with all of the dairy ingredients, but it looks delicious and is a huge improvement over pancakes or waffles for breakfast! So, give it a try and if you like it enough, make another batch for the rest of the week!

Spinach and Cheese Crustless Quiche

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Oil an 8 by 8-inch baking dish with olive oil.

Unwrap the spinach and put it, box and all, on a plate. Microwave and cook on high power for 4 minutes. Allow it to cool and remove it from the box. Squeeze out all of the liquid out of the spinach and put it into a medium bowl.

Combine the eggs, sour cream, cottage cheese, Parmesan,  salt, and pepper, in a medium bowl. Stir together, or blend in food processor until the mixture is smooth, about 1 minute. Pour the mixture into the bowl with the spinach. Add the Cheddar and blendwith a spoon until well mixed. Pour the spinach mixture into the baking dish and smooth out the top.

Bake until set, about 45 minutes. Remove the baking dish from the oven. It will be puffed up, but will fall slightly as it cools. Allow it to cool, then, refrigerate. Cut it into squares and serve.

You can also try making quiche in cupcake tins, as it makes for a great ‘portable’ breakfast.  It makes it very easy to grab your breakfast as your on your way out the door.

I hope you enjoy your Saturday, use it as a chance to plan ahead for the week so making healthy choices will be easy!  Yesterday I challenged you to commit to four weeks of healthy eating and exercise and judging from the comments, I don’t have any takers, but I’m going to act like I do anyway!  I understand that the hardest part about starting something like this is just that–starting.  Knowing this, I’m going to make this as easy on you as possible.  I am going to post a grocery list and a meal plan for a week, so all you have to do is print and follow it!  So, tune in tomorrow afternoon for a grocery list and menu… it will be a while before I can use my brain again after this test!  Happy Saturday!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sara Stclair says:

    I like what I see and will try both! I even have the can of coconut milk! I will use the quiche for weekday mornings! Thanks

  2. Lauren says:

    Thanks for reading Mom 🙂 I hope you don’t mind me pirating many of your ideas and life lessons and selling them off as my own!

Leave a Reply

