No BS

Woo hoo!  No BS Nutrition and Fitness lasted a week.  I’ll be honest, when I started I figured I’d be writing to myself, for a while at least until I begged enough family members to get on and start reading.  Luckily, I didn’t have to do any begging and I’ve really been enjoying getting some of the ideas that float through my head all day out there, hoping they might help a few along the way.

If you’ve been doing the daily challenges or “homework,” do you feel any better?  If you’ve made some changes I would LOVE to hear about them.  I’ve made a couple changes this week as well (aside from developing an unhealthy relationship with my laptop).  First, I’ve been drinking more water after I realized I’ve probably spent the better part of my life dehydrated.  To find out how much water to drink, divide your body weight by two and that is the number of ounces of water you should be drinking each day.  For example: if you weigh 150#, you should be drinking 75 oz. of water daily.  since re-hydrating myself I’ve had MUCH more energy.  I haven’t been tempted to lay down in the middle of my classroom floor and take a nap one single time this week!  I also feel better when I wake up, it’s wonderful.  Drink up!

The second change: I’m eating  more vegetables!  Some days it is hard for me to get in all of the food I need to nourish my body and keep my energy up.  Often I eat all of my meat but give my veggies to my husband.  Oops!  So I’ve bene putting in vegetables where I might usually eat fruit.  I’ll eat over-easy eggs served over sautéed spinach with garlic for breakfast, it’s a great way to start the day.  So far so good!  I have even more energy (on top of the hydration!) and I stay full longer.  Hopefully you’re making some changes too that have given you more energy and made you feel better.

At our gym we’re working really hard to make changes and create good habits as a group.  RARE Crossfit, the gym I coach at in Fredericksburg, Virginia started their second Better Body Challenge this week.  It is not a weight loss challenge, although weight loss is certainly part of it, it’s about learning how to eat well and exercise well for life.  Competitors are required to eat a Paleo or Zone Diet (more on that in days to come) and be at RARE three times a week for five weeks as they work toward creating a better body and lifestyle.  In five weeks the contestants will have created life-long habits that will help them get healthier with each passing year.

Althought you may not be part of the RARE Better Body Challenge, you can make huge strides on your own toward creating a healthier life.  Starting Monday, November 8, I’m going to begin my own challenge for those of you reading.  No matter where you are — Indiana, California, Virginia, wherever!  I guarantee in four weeks you can begin making the changes you have been trying to make, or wanting to make in the past.

I picked four weeks for two reasons; 1) when I decided to really change the way I ate and exercised I made a four week commitment.  In that amount of time I was able to completely change my eating habits and I made huge strides toward my fitness goals. 2) Four weeks from Monday is my 24th birthday and there is nothing I would love more than to hear that others have gotten healthier as a result of their commitment to changing their habits.

Four weeks is the perfect amount of time to make a change–not too long, not too short.  Yes, I realize Thanksgiving is three weeks away and on Thanksgiving we celebrate by stuffing ourselves into a carb-induced coma.  I understand that is how our families celebrate, so join in on the fun, but on Friday get back on track.  Maybe you can go find a Turkey Trot for your family to join in on before you head to Mom’s for pumpkin pie.

So, would you like to join in on our No BS Challenge?  All you have to do is commit to four weeks of:

Making positive changes in your eating habits (such as eating more protein and cutting down on your intake of high-glycemic carbohydrates)

Exercising 4 times a week.

And NO BS!!!

That’s it, just that!  That’s all it will take to get more fit in four weeks.  I will continue to post recipes and workouts for you to implement and make the next four weeks a success.  If you’d like to join in, tell me about it in the comments and I will do everything I can to help you through the next four weeks successfully, and we will celebrate together on December 6!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Katie says:

    The author of this blog is only going to be 24?? …but she sounds so mature and responsible! She must’ve had some fanfreakintastic older siblings that showed her exactly what NOT to do. She should thank them for being such epic slackers.

    Seriously, though. I love reading your BS, and you’re so right about water. This is the one universal truth that no one can dispute. If I have a headache, water does the trick. Congested? Water. Heartburn? Water. Stiff neck? Water. Bloated? Water. Stinky armpits? Water (& soap).

    We could cut out all the tylenol, tums & energy drinks if we’d just rehydrate ourselves. People want to buy a miracle cure at the gas station when the secret formula for perfect health usually flows out of the faucet for free.

  2. Abby says:

    I will start my own four weeks as soon as I have the money to go grocery shopping! I’ll let you know when that is so I can’t cheat, and I’ll use your grocery lists too! The hard part is I have a random schedule every week so I usually have to prepare meals in the morning or else we’ll eat like crap!

  3. Jude says:

    No worries Lauren, I’ve been reading your site for the last few days!

  4. Mandy says:

    Oh Lauren, I always knew you would be good at motivating people to start and keep a healthy lifestyle. I remember you doing mini workouts in the Teen room at CFRC, eating peanuts and pickles in the kitchen, and trying out all sorts of receipes on the kids! Over the past couple of years I have resorted back to my old ways and have gained back all the weight I managed to lose during college (and for people who don’t know me, I did it the healthy way, not the too broke to eat way!), your site had motivated me to get back on track 🙂 I accept your four week challenge (yes I know I’m a few days late, but this my first time on the site) As soon as I hit submit, I’m going to try out one of your home work outs and I’m having eggs for breakfast tomorrow (but no toast!). Keep posting!

    1. Lauren says:

      Mandy!
      It’s so great to hear from you! I’m so glad to hear you’re back on track. It’s easy to get busy and stressed out and get off track, but the hardest part is making a commitment to get back into it and you’ve done that. Awesome job. I’m glad you’ve accepted the “Challenge.” There’s really no time limit to it, staying healthy doesn’t ever stop! I know you know that, and you have the willpower to make it happen. Keep me updated on how things are going, anything I can do to help….I am all yours 🙂 (I really wish you could hear the excitement in my voice….it’s WAY too early to be this excited!)

Leave a Reply

