Work It Out!!

This past Sunday I spent the gorgeous, fall day at the Marine Corps Marathon cheering on my husband and friends competing in the marathon and 10k.  There’s nothing quite as motivating as watching thousands of runners fill the streets of DC as they make their way to 26.2 miles.  After missing the registration deadline for the 10k, I found myself on the sidlines as the marathon runners finished the last leg of their journey motivated to try something so challenging.  I ran in a half marathon  2 years ago, but hadn’t found the motivation to run another until that day.  Watching others accomplish something so huge made me want to be a part of it.  I’m sure some of you runners out there have already competed in multiple marathons, 50 or 100 mile races, but not this girl! I’ve avoided a marathon or another half because I still find it difficult to shut off my mind and just run!  I’m sure we’ve all heard these voices at one point, whether running or doing any other kind of exercise:

“Stop, this hurts!”….. “I can’t BREEEEATH!”…… “You have so many other things you should be doing.”….”It’s too cold”…..”I’m tired”….or my personal favorite “You can just do it later!”

Do any of those ring a bell?  How often do you condemn yourself to failure before you even begin to exercise?  Beginning to workout when you haven’t done it in a long time (or ever) can be very difficult, if you make it difficult.  Finding a gym, getting new shoes, paying a membership, driving to and from, spending 45 minutes on the elliptical.  Phew… if that’s what it took for me to workout I’d struggle with it too.

Fortunately, there are numerous workouts you can do from the privacy of your own home in just 10-20 minutes a day.  It does not require you to buy a DVD or a big piece of equipment, just make the time and get moving.  I’m going to keep running and working on focussing on positive thoughts and I challenge you to get up and get moving toward an exercise related goal as well.  Without a specific goal in mind, it will be hard to motivate yourself on those cold, dark mornings when your bed is warm and inviting.  Your goal does not have to be running related, I have a lot of workout goals; one is running related, the other is to continuously get stronger, another to be faster.  Your goal could be anything!

To help you work toward your goal, I’m going to list workouts that you can try at home, right now! I’ve also post a video to help you with one of the movements.  Remember, the most important part is staying positive and making yourself a priority.

Daily Challenge: complete one of the following workouts TODAY!!  No excuses, your health is worth it!

In 10 minutes complete as many rounds as you can of:

10 sit-ups, 10 air squats, 10 pushups

(10 sit-ups, 10 air squats, and 10 pushups is one round)

8 rounds: Run 20 seconds, rest 10 seconds

(this will be a total of 4 minutes of work, by the end you should be totally beat, run your fastest)

3 Rounds for time:

25 box jumps/step ups, 100 skips on a jump rope, 50 sit-ups  (a total of 75 box jumps, 300 skips, and 150 sit-ups

4 Rounds for time:

Run 400 meters (1/4 mile), 50 air squats (you can reduce the distance if you are not up to 400 meters yet, or you can just move at a pace you are comfortable with)

For guidance on how to SAFELY AND PROPERLY do an air squat, watch this video:

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Abby says:

    lets be honest, I just practiced in front of the mirror for five minutes and I think my heart is going to stop haha. Thanks for the home workout ideas!

  2. Lauren says:

    I promise your heart won’t stop….it actually will beat it’s way out of your chests before it stops 🙂 Great work, Abby! Thanks for letting me know what you’re up to! It keeps me motivated to write!
    Yeah, you do these workouts and you will get in shape much faster than you expected…they will kick your arse…in the best way possible.

Leave a Reply

